Al-Gharafa Sports Club is a Qatari sports club based in the Al Gharafa district of Al Rayyan. It is primarily known for its football team, although it also has teams for other sports. It was established in 1979 as Al-Ittihad and later officially incorporated into the Qatar Football Association that same year. The club was officially renamed to its current form in 2004 to better represent the district of Al-Gharafa.

The idea of creating the new club that would represent Gharafat Al-Rayyan sparked from a group of young Qataris in 1978. Most notably, people like Sheikh Mohammed bin Jassim Al-Thani, Sheikh Hamad bin Jassim Al-Thani, Sheikh Hamad bin Faisal Al-Thani, Sheikh Ali bin Abdullah Al-Thani and Saad Mohammad Al-Rumaihi.

The club is one of Qatar’s most successful clubs having won the Qatari League in 1992, 1998, 2002 (as Al-Ittihad), 2005, 2008, 2009, 2010; The Emir of Qatar Cup in: 1995, 1996, 1997, 1998, 2002 (as Al-Ittihad), 2009, 2012; the Qatar Crown Prince Cup in: 2000 (as Al-Ittihad), 2010, 2011 and the Qatari Stars Cup in 2009

Al Gharafa plays its home games at Thani bin Jassim Stadium which has a capacity of 27,000 and was built in 2003. The stadium hosted 2011 AFC Asian Cup and other international competitions such as the IAAF Diamond League Athletics Championships.

BURRDA SPORT has been proud to be the Official Kit Partner to Al-Gharafa Sports Club since from 2014.

Image Image Image Image